10–12 Artillery St
BT48 6RG, Northern Ireland
+44 (0) 2871 373538

The gallery is currently closed

Our regular opening hours are Tuesday–Saturday, noon–6pm
Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Posted 20 October 2013

Turner Prize 2013

This year the Turner Prize will be presented in Derry~Londonderry, the UK’s first City of Culture, in partnership with Tate. According to Tate, “the Turner Prize is a contemporary art award that was set up in 1984 to celebrate new developments in contemporary art. It is awarded each year to ‘a British artist under fifty for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the twelve months preceding’. Nominations are invited each year, and the prize is judged by an independent jury that changes annually.”

This year’s shortlist features Laure Prouvost, Tino Sehgal, and David Shrigley, and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye. The shortlisted artists present works in a show normally held at Tate Britain before the winner is announced on December 2nd. This year, the exhibition is held in a newly created exhibition space in Building 80/81, Ebrington, Derry~Londonderry. The show runs between October 23rd, 2013, and January 5th, 2014. For more information, please see Turner Prize 2013’s website.

Image: Laure Prouvost. 
Installation view, Max Mara Prize for Women, Whitechapel Gallery, London, 2013. © Laure Prouvost, courtesy MOT International, London.